Youth Justice Services

If you are in conflict with the law, you probably have some choices to make about your life and your future. Our expert and effective youth justice services can give you the knowledge, training, and counselling you need — empowering you to make positive choices and be a productive member of the community.

Trades Training Centre

The brand new Trades Training Centre will provide top notch training and skills development in the trades for at-risk youth in the Ottawa area. With YOUR help, up to 300 at-risk youth will be trained each year.

William E. Hay Centre

The Hay Centre is a 40-bed residence for male youth (aged 12 to17) in pre-trial detention or post-trial secure custody. It provides educational options and life skills training to help youth in conflict with the law make a positive transition back into the community.

Livius Sherwood Detention and Custody Centre

The Sherwood is an eight-bed residence for male youth (aged 12 to17) in pre‑trial detention or post-trial open custody. Like the Hay Centre, it provides education and training to help youth in conflict with the law make a positive transition back into the community.

One-on-One Anger Management Program

This program addresses the links between anger and action, which can lead to conflict with the law. Four one-on-one interactive sessions show youth in the justice system how to recognize anger and manage it with a variety of alternative patterns and problem-solving techniques.

Youth Mental Health Court Worker

This program supports youth who are in conflict with the law but who also suffer from serious mental health problems. The court worker redirects these youth away from the justice system and towards the services and programs they and their families need.

Community Reintegration Program

Offered to youth in custody, this voluntary program combines personal counselling and a wide range of ongoing support services. By equipping at-risk youth to build healthier relationships and focus on the future, reintegration counsellors help them reduce their risk of reoffending.


Provincial Asset Mapping and Program Inventory Project report - click here to download the report

Services de justice pour les jeunes

Si vous avez des démêlés avec la justice, vous avez probablement des choix à faire sur votre vie et sur votre avenir. Nos services spécialisés et efficaces de justice pour les jeunes peuvent vous fournir les connaissances, la formation et le counseling dont vous avec besoin, vous habilitant ainsi à faire des choix positifs et à devenir un membre productif de la communauté.

Centre William E. Hay

Le Centre Hay est une résidence de 40 lits pour jeunes hommes (âgés de 12 à 17 ans) qui sont en détention avant leur procès ou sous garde fermée après leur procès. Cette résidence offre des choix en matière d’éducation et de la formation sur les aptitudes à la vie quotidienne pour aider les jeunes qui ont des démêlés avec la justice à faire une transition positive vers le retour dans la communauté.

Centre de détention et d’observation Livius Sherwood

Le Centre Sherwood est une résidence de 8 lits pour jeunes hommes (âgés de 12 à 17 ans) qui sont en détention avant leur procès ou sous garde ouverte après leur procès. Tout comme le Centre Hay, il offre des choix en matière d’éducation et de la formation sur les aptitudes à la vie quotidienne pour aider les jeunes qui ont des démêlés avec la justice à faire une transition positive vers le retour dans la communauté.

Programme individuel de gestion de la colère

Ce programme aborde les liens entre la colère et l’action, qui peuvent mener à des démêlés avec la justice. Quatre sessions interactives individuelles enseignent aux jeunes dans le système juridique comment reconnaître la colère et la gérer au moyen de divers modèles de rechange et diverses techniques de résolution de problèmes.

Programme d’approche judiciaire pour les jeunes ayant des troubles de santé mentale

Ce programme appuie les jeunes qui ont des démêlés avec la justice mais qui sont également aux prises avec de graves troubles de santé mentale. Le travailleur du programme d’approche judiciaire redirige ces jeunes à l’écart du système juridique et vers les programmes et services dont ils ont besoin, eux et leur famille.

Programme de réintégration communautaire

Offert aux jeunes sous garde, ce programme volontaire combine le counseling personnel et une vaste gamme de services de soutien continu. En dotant les jeunes à risque des capacités nécessaires pour bâtir des relations plus saines et se concentrer sur l’avenir, les conseillers en matière de réintégration les aident à réduire leur risque de récidiver.