Youth and Family Counselling

Sometimes, people need a little help to feel good about themselves or to learn how to cope with difficulties in their lives. That’s why we provide counselling services to young people (aged 12 up to the day before their 18th birthday) and their families. Our sessions are flexible, according to need: we can bring parents and youth together for family counselling, and we can offer individual counselling to the youth on his or her own, or to one or both parents on their own.

Male and female counsellors from a range of disciplines (psychiatry, sociology, social work, etc.) cooperate with youth and families to identify specific goals and work towards their achievement. Progress is regularly reviewed to increase the likelihood of positive outcomes.

Some of the issues addressed in counselling are:

  • Family conflict
  • Depression and/or anxiety
  • Violence and/or abuse
  • Substance abuse
  • Sexual orientation
  • Relationships
  • Loss and bereavement

Services include ongoing individual and family and parent counselling, aftercare, and access to consultations with a multi-disciplinary team (psychiatrists, psychologists, and reflection team).

How to access the program

Youth or parents can call YSB Mental Health at 613-562-3004 for more information on a mental health service that would be right for you. An intake worker will perform a brief telephone interview and arrange a face-to-face assessment. If our counselling services meets your needs, a counsellor will set up a meeting time and location.

Phone: 613-562-3004
Coordinator:
Mandy Leafloor

Counseling à l’intention des jeunes et de la famille

Parfois, on a besoin d’un peu d’aide pour se sentir bien dans sa peau ou pour apprendre comment composer avec les difficultés de la vie. Voilà pourquoi nous offrons des services de counseling aux jeunes (âgés de 12 à 18 ans) et à leur famille. Nos sessions sont flexibles, selon les besoins : nous pouvons rassembler les parents et les jeunes pour du counseling familial, et nous pouvons offrir du counseling individuel au jeune, à un parent ou aux deux parents.

Des conseillers hommes et femmes provenant d’une gamme de disciplines (psychiatrie, sociologie, travail social, etc.) coopèrent avec le jeunes et la famille dans le but de cerner des buts précis et de travailler à l’atteinte de ceux-ci. Les progrès sont étudiés régulièrement pour augmenter la probabilité de résultats positifs.

Certaines des questions abordées lors du counseling sont :

  • Les conflits familiaux;
  • La dépression et l’anxiété;
  • La violence et le mauvais traitement;
  • La toxicomanie;
  • L’orientation sexuelle;
  • Les relations; et
  • La perte et le deuil.

Les services comprennent le counseling individuel, familial et parental continu, les services de suivi et l’accès à des consultations auprès d’une équipe multidisciplinaire (psychiatres, psychologues et équipe de réflexion).

Comment accéder au programme

Les jeunes (âgés de 12 à 18 ans) ou les parents peuvent communiquer avec nous au 613 562-3004 pour demander un envoi en consultation vers ce programme. Un travailleur de l’accueil dirigera une brève entrevue par téléphone et prendra les dispositions nécessaires pour effectuer une évaluation en personne. Si nos services de counseling répondent à vos besoins, un conseiller organisera des heures et des emplacements de réunion qui conviennent au jeune et à la famille.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec nous au 613-562-3004 durant les heures de bureau, de lundi au vendredi de 8h30 à 16h30.

Téléphone : 613 562-3004
Courriel : counselling@ysb.on.ca
Coordinatrice du programme : Mandy Leafloor