William E. Hay Centre

For many youth at risk, being faced with a charge and an unfamiliar legal system is a turning point that can lead either to greater risk or to an opportunity to make positive changes. YSB supports youth (aged 12 to 17) in the justice system. Together with several community partners, we offer innovative programs and counselling to promote positive behavioural change.

The William E. Hay Centre is a 40-bed residential facility serving male youth in secure detention (pre-trial) and secure custody (post-trial). The centre provides a series of educational options and life skills training that give youth the knowledge and practical skills they need in everyday life. In collaboration with local school boards, the McHugh School Program (Section 23) teaches a variety of high school courses for credit as well as skills-building courses, such as dry-walling, woodworking, and small engine repair.

In addition, the Hay Centre offers the following life skills programs:

  • Young Men’s Work
  • Young Men’s Parenting
  • Alcoholic’s Anonymous / Narcotics Anonymous
  • Courage Program
  • Drumming Program
  • Social Skills and Arts Program
  • Faith Program
  • Anger Management
  • Cognitive Self-Change
  • Cognitive-based Life Skills Program

Together, these educational and training programs help give male youth in the justice system the incentive they need to get their lives back on track.

How to access the program

This program is offered to male youth in the justice system only by referral. The courts, Probation Services, or other Youth Justice facilities or organizations can make arrangements by calling the William E. Hay Centre at 613-738-7776 or by faxing the referral form to the Centre at 613-738-7909. Questions may be directed to the program contact at the telephone number and email address listed below.

Contact: Gordon Boyd
Phone: 613-738-2104 ext. 225
Email: gboyd@ysb.on.ca

Centre William E. Hay

Pour de nombreux jeunes à risque, le fait de faire face à une accusation et à un système juridique qui leur est inconnu est un point déterminant qui peut soit les mener vers de plus grands risques, soit se présenter comme une occasion d’apporter des changements positifs. Le BSJ appuie les jeunes (âgés de 12 à 17 ans) qui se trouvent dans le système juridique. En partenariat avec plusieurs partenaires communautaires, nous offrons des programmes innovateurs et du counseling qui favorisent les changements de comportement positifs.

Le Centre William E. Hay est un établissement résidentiel de 40 lits à l’intention des jeunes hommes en détention fermée (avant le procès) et sous garde fermée (après le procès). Le Centre offre une série de choix en matière d’éducation et de formation sur les aptitudes à la vie quotidienne qui donnent aux jeunes les connaissances et les aptitudes pratiques dont ils ont besoin dans la vie de tous les jours. En collaboration avec les conseils scolaires de la localité, le Programme scolaire McHugh (Section 23) enseigne divers cours du niveau secondaire avec crédit ainsi que des cours d’aptitudes pratiques comme l’installation de cloisons sèches, le travail du bois et la réparation de petits moteurs.

De plus, le Centre Hay offre les programmes suivants d’aptitudes à la vie quotidienne :

  • Travail de jeunes hommes;
  • Techniques parentales pour jeunes hommes;
  • Alcooliques anonymes/ Narcotiques anonymes;
  • Programme de courage;
  • Programme de batterie;
  • Programme d’aptitudes sociales et d’art;
  • Programme de la foi;
  • Gestion de la colère;
  • Autochangement cognitif;
  • Programme d’aptitudes à la vie quotidienne fondé sur les capacités cognitives.

Ensemble, ces programmes d’éducation et de formation aident à donner aux jeunes hommes dans le système juridique l’encouragement dont ils ont besoin pour remettre leur vie dans le droit chemin.

Comment accéder au programme

Ce programme est offert aux jeunes hommes dans le système juridique, sur envoi en consultation seulement. Les cours, les services de probation ou d’autres organismes de justice pour les jeunes peuvent prendre des dispositions en appelant le Centre William E. Hay, au 613 738-7776, ou en envoyant le formulaire au Centre par télécopieur, au 613 738-7909. Toute question peut être dirigée à la personne responsable du programme, aux coordonnées indiquées ci-dessous.

Personne responsable : Gordon Boyd
Téléphone : 613 738-2104, poste 225
Courriel : gboyd@ysb.on.ca