Livius Sherwood Detention and Custody Centre

For many youth at risk, being faced with a charge and an unfamiliar legal system is a turning point that can lead either to greater risk or to an opportunity to make positive changes. YSB supports male youth (aged 12 to 17) in the justice system. Together with several community partners, we offer innovative programs and counselling to promote positive behavioural change.

Like the William E. Hay Centre, the Livius Sherwood Detention and Custody Centre serves youth in pre- and post‑trial detention. This 8‑bed centre, however, serves youth who are in open — rather than secure — custody.

The Sherwood Centre also provides a series of educational options and life skills training that give youth the knowledge and practical skills they need in everyday life. In addition to the mandatory McHugh School Program (Section 23), the centre offers the following life skills programs:

  • Young Men’s Work
  • Young Men’s Parenting
  • Alcoholic’s Anonymous / Narcotics Anonymous
  • Courage Program
  • Drumming Program
  • Social Skills and Arts Program
  • Faith Program
  • Anger Management
  • Cognitive Self-Change
  • Cognitive-based Life Skills Program

Together, these educational and training programs help give male youth in the justice system the incentive they need to get their lives back on track.

How to access the program

This program is offered to male youth in the justice system only by referral. Representatives from the courts, Probation Services, or other Youth Justice organizations may direct their questions to the program contact at the telephone number and email address below.

Contact: Gordon Boyd
Phone: 613-738-2104 ext. 225
Email: sherwood@ysb.on.ca

Centre de détention et d'observation Livius Sherwood

Pour de nombreux jeunes à risque, le fait de faire face à une accusation et à un système juridique qui leur est inconnu est un point déterminant qui peut soit les mener vers de plus grands risques, soit se présenter comme une occasion de faire des changements positifs. Le BSJ appuie les jeunes (âgés de 12 à 17 ans) qui se trouvent dans le système juridique. En partenariat avec plusieurs partenaires communautaires, nous offrons des programmes innovateurs et du counseling qui favorisent les changements de comportement positifs.

Tout comme le Centre William E. Hay, le Centre de détention et d'observation Livius Sherwood dessert les jeunes qui sont en détention avant et après leur procès. Ce centre de 8 lits, toutefois, dessert les jeunes qui sont sous garde ouverte, plutôt que sous garde fermée.

Le Centre Sherwood offre également une série de choix en matière d'éducation et de formation sur les aptitudes à la vie quotidienne qui donnent aux jeunes les connaissances et les aptitudes pratiques dont ils ont besoin dans la vie de tous les jours. Outre le programme obligatoire de l'école McHugh (Section 23), le Centre offre les programmes suivants d'aptitudes à la vie quotidienne :

  • Travail de jeunes hommes;
  • Techniques parentales pour jeunes hommes;
  • Alcooliques anonymes/ Narcotiques anonymes;
  • Programme de courage;
  • Programme de batterie;
  • Programme d'aptitudes sociales et d'art;
  • Programme de la foi;
  • Gestion de la colère;
  • Autochangement cognitif;
  • Programme d'aptitudes à la vie quotidienne fondé sur les capacités cognitives.

Ensemble, ces programmes d'éducation et de formation aident à donner aux jeunes hommes dans le système juridique l'encouragement dont ils ont besoin pour remettre leur vie dans le droit chemin.

Comment accéder au programme

Ce programme est offert aux jeunes hommes dans le système juridique, sur envoi en consultation seulement. Les représentants des cours, des services de probation ou d'autres organismes de justice pour les jeunes peuvent acheminer leurs questions à la personne responsable du programme, aux coordonnées indiquées ci-dessous.

Personne responsable : Gordon Boyd
Téléphone : 613-738-2104 ext. 225
Courriel : sherwood@ysb.on.ca