FAQs for the General Public

Is YSB a government program?

No, the YSB is not a government program. It is one of the largest and most comprehensive non-profit agencies serving youth in this community. As a registered charity (#10822 8545 RR0001) we receive funding from the Province of Ontario, the City of Ottawa, the United Way, and generous private donors.

Back to Top

Where is YSB located?

Our head office is at 2675 Queensview Drive in Ottawa (near Pinecrest and Greenbank), but our programs and services are offered at 20 locations across the city. For instance, our Downtown Drop-in Centre, for street-involved youth, is located at 147 Besserer St. near Ottawa’s Byward Market, and our Employment Services are located at 1355 Bank St. (near Billings Bridge). If you’re looking for the location of a specific program, you'll find many of them in the following sections:

Please note that certain locations, such as the shelters, are confidential. If you can't find the answer you're looking for, please call our head office at 613-729-1000, or email us at headoffice@ysb.on.ca.

Back to Top

Who are YSB services for?

YSB services are offered to youth (aged 12 and older) and their families and communities. Many of our programs are designed to guide high need and high risk youth through whatever threatens their physical, sexual and mental well being. However, we offer assistance and encouragement to any youth who reach out for it, whether it’s to find a respectful listener, a like-minded social group, or a safe place to spend a few hours.

Back to Top

How much do YSB services cost?

YSB services are free.

Back to Top

Are all YSB services offered in English and French? Are the programs offered in any other languages?

YSB services are offered in both English and French. When youth workers who speak other languages are available, we can offer services in those languages, as well — although we regret that we cannot guarantee to do so.

Back to Top

How can I make a donation to YSB? Can I choose which programs I want my donation to support?

We welcome your donation in any way you’d like to direct it. You can specify a program you want to support, or you can donate to the program that is most in need of funding. Please visit Help us make an impact for more information about donating to YSB.

Back to Top

How much of my donation goes directly to programming?

We work hard to keep our administration costs very low, so that 90 cents of every dollar goes directly into programming. You can feel good about a donation to YSB!

Back to Top

I know someone who could benefit from YSB services. How do I make a referral? Can my referral be confidential?

YSB does not approach youth and their families based on referrals. Rather, our services are available to those who reach out to us for help. Depending on which programs and services you feel are appropriate, you can ask the youth to call one of our program coordinators or visit us at the Downtown Drop-in Centre at 147 Besserer St.

Community Services: 613-241-7788
Youth Employment: 613-236-8244
Mental Health Services: 613-562-3004
Youth Justice Services: 613-738-7776
Youth Engagement: 613-241-7788

Or you can suggest that they call our 24/7 Crisis Line for guidance on how best to get the help they need.

24/7 Crisis Line:
In Ottawa: 613-260-2360
Long distance toll-free: 1-877-377-7775

Back to Top

I’ve been through difficult times in the past. I believe my life experiences uniquely qualify me to help struggling youth in our community. How can I get involved with YSB?

YSB is taking steps to put a volunteer program in place. If you are interested in staying connected with YSB and of being informed about future volunteer opportunities, email foundation@ysb.on.ca.

In the interim, some options for getting involved in YSB are signing up for an e-newsletter to stay apprised of our events and activities, helping us make an impact by donating to the YSB, requesting our brochure, and letting youth and organizations in your neighbourhood know about our services.

Back to Top

I’d like to volunteer at YSB. Who should I contact?

YSB is in the process of developing a volunteer program. If you are interested in staying connected with YSB and of being informed about future volunteer opportunities, email ysbfoundation@ysb.on.ca.

Back to Top

I’d like to work at YSB. Who should I contact?

If you are interested in joining our team of dedicated and caring professionals, consult our Careers section to see a list of current opportunities and a description of how to apply for staff positions.

If you are looking for a student placement, email the director of the program you are interested in and include a C.C. to mwhitty@ysb.on.ca in our Human Resources department. We’ll respond to your email as soon as possible.

Back to Top

I’m a student doing a project on YSB. Where can I get more information?

YSB fact sheets contain a lot of useful information. And these are the links to the webpages detailing our key services:

Mental health services
Youth employment
Youth justice
Community services
Youth Engagement

If you can’t find the information you are looking for on the website, you may contact communications@ysb.on.ca. Note that, due to the large number of requests, it may take up to two weeks to respond to a request.

Back to Top

FAQ pour le grande public

Le BSJ est-il un programme gouvernemental?

Non, le BSJ n'est pas un programme gouvernemental. Il est un des organismes à but non lucratif les plus importants et les plus complets au service des jeunes dans notre communauté. À titre d'organisme de bienfaisance enregistré (10822 8545 RR0001), nous recevons un financement du gouvernement de l'Ontario, de la Ville d'Ottawa, de Centraide et de généreux donateurs privés.

Back to Top

Où est situé le BSJ?

Notre bureau principal est au 2675 Queensview Drive, à Ottawa (près de l'intersection Pinecrest et Greenbank), mais nos programmes et services sont offerts dans 20 emplacements partout dans la ville. Par exemple, notre Halte-accueil du centre-ville, à l'intention des jeunes de la rue, est situé au 147, rue Besserer, près du Marché By, et nos les services d'emploi du BSJ est situé au 1355, rue Bank. Si vous cherchez l'emplacement d'un programme en particulier, veuillez visiter les pages qui suit :

Si vous ne trouvez pas l'information que vous désirer, veuillez appeler notre siège sociale au (613) 729-1000, ou envoyer nous un courriel au headoffice@ysb.on.ca.

 

Back to Top

À qui s'adressent les services du BSJ?

Les services du BSJ sont offerts aux jeunes (âgés de 12 ans et plus), à leur famille et aux communautés. Bon nombre de nos programmes sont conçus dans le but de guider les jeunes à grand besoin et à risque élevé dans toute situation qui met en danger leur bien-être physique, sexuel et mental. Toutefois, nous offrons de l'aide et de l'encouragement à tout jeune qui en fait la demande, qu'il s'agisse de trouver une oreille respectueuse, un groupe social aux opinions similaires ou un endroit sécuritaire où passer quelques heures.

Back to Top

Combien coûtent les services du BSJ?

Les services du BSJ sont gratuits.

Back to Top

Les services du BSJ sont-ils tous offerts en anglais et en français? Sont-ils offerts dans d'autres langues?

Les services du BSJ sont offerts en anglais et en français. Quand les travailleurs auprès des jeunes qui peuvent s'exprimer dans d'autres langues sont disponibles, nous pouvons offrir nos services dans d'autres langues—cependant, nous regrettons de ne pas pouvoir garantir ce service.

Back to Top

Comment puis-je faire un don au BSJ? Puis-je choisir les programmes auxquels mon don sera versé?

Nous sommes heureux d'accepter votre don, où que vous souhaitiez le diriger. Vous pouvez préciser un programme que vous désirez appuyer, ou vous pouvez faire un don au programme qui a le plus besoin de financement. Veuillez visiter Aidez-nous à faire un impact pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet des dons faits aux BSJ.

Back to Top

Quelle proportion de mon don est versée directement aux programmes?

Nous nous efforçons de garder nos frais administratifs très bas, de façon à ce que 90 cents de chaque dollar soient versées directement au programme. Vous pouvez vous sentir bien de faire un don au BSJ!

Back to Top

Je connais quelqu'un qui pourrait bénéficier des services du BSJ. Comment puis-je faire un envoi en consultation? Puis-je le faire d'une façon confidentielle?

Le BSJ n'approche pas les jeunes et leur famille au moyen d'envois en consultation. Nos services sont plutôt offerts aux personnes qui font appel à nous pour obtenir de l'aide. Selon les programmes et services que vous jugez convenables, vous pouvez demander au jeune de communiquer avec un de nos coordonnateurs de programmes ou nous rendre visite à la Halte-accueil du centre-ville, au 147, rue Besserer.

Services communautaires : 613 241-7788
Emploi pour les jeunes : 613 236-8244
Services de santé mentale : 613 562-3004
Services de justice pour les jeunes : 613 738-7776
Engagement des jeunes : 613 241-7788

Vous pouvez également leur suggérer d'appeler la Ligne de crise 24/7 pour obtenir de l'aide sur la meilleure façon d'obtenir l'aide dont ils ont besoin.

Ligne de crise 24/7 :
À Ottawa : 613 260-2360
Sans frais : 1 877 377-7775

Back to Top

J'ai vécu des moments difficiles et je crois que mes expériences de vie font de moi une personne idéale pour aider les jeunes en difficulté dans la communauté. Comment puis-je contribuer au sein du BSJ?

Le BSJ prend actuellement des démarches pour mettre en place un programme de bénévolat. Si vous désirez rester en contact avec le BSJ et demeurer informé au sujet des occasions futures de bénévolat, écrivez à l'adresse foundation@BSJ.on.ca.

Dans l'intérim, vous pouvez également faire votre part au sein du BSJ en vous abonnant à un bulletin de nouvelles électronique pour demeurer au courant des événements et des activités, en nous aidant à faire un impact en faisant un don au BSJ, en demandant notre dépliant et en parlant de nos services aux jeunes et aux organismes dans votre quartier.

Back to Top

J'aimerais faire du bénévolat au BSJ. Avec qui devrais-je communiquer?

Le BSJ prend actuellement des démarches pour mettre en place un programme de bénévolat. Si vous désirez rester en contact avec le BSJ et demeurer informé au sujet des occasions futures de bénévolat, écrivez à l'adresse ysbfoundation@ysb.on.ca.

Back to Top

J'aimerais travailler au BSJ. Avec qui devrais-je communiquer?

Si vous êtes intéressé à vous joindre à notre équipe de professionnels dévoués et soucieux, consultez notre section Carrières pour voir une liste de d'occasions actuelles ainsi que des explications sur la façon de postuler.

Si vous cherchez un placement d'étudiant, envoyez un courriel au directeur du programme qui vous intéresse et incluez une copie conforme à l'adresse mwhitty@BSJ.on.ca, au Service des ressources humaines. Nous répondrons à votre courriel dans les plus brefs délais.

Back to Top

J'aimerais travailler au BSJ. Avec qui devrais-je communiquer?

Les Feuilles de renseignements du BSJ contiennent beaucoup de renseignements utiles. Voici les liens vers les pages qui décrivent en détails nos services clés.

Si vous ne trouvez pas les renseignements que vous cherchez sur le site Web, vous pouvez écrire à l'adresse communications@BSJ.on.ca. Notez que, en raison du grand nombre de demandes, il peut prendre jusqu'à deux semaines pour répondre à une demande.

Back to Top